Go Back   AstroHolic.com > Astro Imaging > Video Astronomy > The GSTAR-EX User's Group

Reply
 
Bookmark and Share Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2015, 07:00 AM
Geomak Geomak is offline
Newcomer
 
Australia
Location: NSW
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 24
Default GStarEx2 and Windows 8.1 or 10


Hi GStarEx users,
Is anyone out there running their GStar camera's
successfully on Windows 8 or Windows 10.
My XP machine is on its last legs so I need a backup
computer to keep being able to use the camera itself.
Any advice would be most appreciated.
Thanks
George.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2015, 07:54 AM
Jocko's Avatar
Jocko Jocko is offline
Definitely not a sook
 
Australia
Location: Takura
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 371
Default

I run mine on win7pro
had too many problems with win10
__________________
Jocko
sanctuary.hills.observatory@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jocko For This Useful Post:
THE PLOUGH (12-15-2015)
  #3  
Old 12-16-2015, 08:13 PM
Geomak Geomak is offline
Newcomer
 
Australia
Location: NSW
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 24
Default GStarEx2 and Windows 8.1 or 10

Hi Jocko,
Thanks for your reply.
Unfortunately I don't have a Windows 7 machine,
only the clapped out XP, and when I was offered
the 8.1 at a good price, I snapped it up.
Cheers
George
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2015, 07:16 PM
White Dwarf's Avatar
White Dwarf White Dwarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Australia
Location: Victoria
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 446
Default

Hi George,
My XP laptop recently died and I now have a Win 10 machine. GStar software runs OK (including remote control of functions) although I have to reinsert the camera details each time I start the program. Can't work out why? Otherwise no problems ...... so far.
Robert
__________________
Robert
Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying. ~ Arthur C. Clarke
________________________________
Celestron 6SE, HEQ5Pro, GStarEX2, Nikon D90 etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2015, 08:29 AM
Geomak Geomak is offline
Newcomer
 
Australia
Location: NSW
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 24
Default GStarEx2 and Windows 8.1 or 10

Hi Robert,
My Windows 8.1 machine runs the GStar4 capture
software with no problems, but after connecting the
camera, serial to USB connector and power for the
camera it doesn't recognise the GStar Ex2 camera in
the camera setup of the capture programme, although
it does recognise the inbuilt camera of the Windows 8.1
machine.
A couple of questions if I may.
1). How do I get it to register the GStarEx2 camera as the
software for the serial to USB converter isn't recognised
by Windows 8.1 as it is XP only. (That is what it
tells me when trying to install it.)
2). What info. are you typing in to register the camera?. Is
this info being typed into the camera setup of the GStar4
programme?.
Have a great Christmas.
Cheers
George
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2015, 10:16 AM
DavidLJ's Avatar
DavidLJ DavidLJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Australia
Location: NSW
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 192
Default

I don't know if this will help at all probably not, but worth a try.


In the days when I was using my old GStar-Ex for imaging purposes I hit a problem where my Win7 computers decided that they would no longer allow the GStar Capture program to recognise the camera. The problem seemed to rest with the USB Grabber and/or driver that I was using. Replacing the USB Grabber solved the problem, but only for a while. I eventually found a permanent solution by buying a Kaiser Baas serial-to-USB unit.
__________________
A little learning is a dangerous thing
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DavidLJ For This Useful Post:
Geomak (12-21-2015)
  #7  
Old 12-21-2015, 03:19 PM
White Dwarf's Avatar
White Dwarf White Dwarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Australia
Location: Victoria
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 446
Default

Hi George and David,
Thank you both for raising this issue. I also have been experiencing this trouble. One night, all worked well; the next - "Selected camera no longer connected". The camera set-up screen is then presented. Only by selecting the capture device, setting 720 x 576 YUY2, Apply settings, digital sensor, default and best quality, could I get the camera to be recognised. Selecting "camera" again results in the first error message again appearing necessitating resetting all the parameters.
This is on a WIN XP laptop. The USB-RS232 cable must have the correct driver or the camera can not be remotely controlled - error message "cannot find Com Port to use".
I have emailed MyAstroshop who, apart from suggesting either the video-capture or USB capture device driver was faulty. A different capture device and reinstalling drivers failed to correct the problems.
I can't help wondering if a fault has developed in the camera. I hope I don't end up with either a faulty or unsupported camera.
Happy Xmas (maybe Santa will help)
Robert
__________________
Robert
Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying. ~ Arthur C. Clarke
________________________________
Celestron 6SE, HEQ5Pro, GStarEX2, Nikon D90 etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-2015, 03:22 PM
White Dwarf's Avatar
White Dwarf White Dwarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Australia
Location: Victoria
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 446
Default

Just had a further thought; Perhaps the windows updates which Microsoft flood us with, are causing problems. Seems unlikely but......
Robert
__________________
Robert
Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying. ~ Arthur C. Clarke
________________________________
Celestron 6SE, HEQ5Pro, GStarEX2, Nikon D90 etc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2015, 03:38 PM
White Dwarf's Avatar
White Dwarf White Dwarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Australia
Location: Victoria
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 446
Default

One further note - MyAstroShop is not offering the camera for sale any more. When I last checked, about 2 weeks ago, the listed them as "out of stock". Now they're not listed at all, only the cables.
Not a happy Robert
__________________
Robert
Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying. ~ Arthur C. Clarke
________________________________
Celestron 6SE, HEQ5Pro, GStarEX2, Nikon D90 etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-21-2015, 05:16 PM
Vinnie's Avatar
Vinnie Vinnie is offline
The Venerable One (Administrator)
 
Australia
Location: Queensland, Australia
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Dwarf View Post
 One further note - MyAstroShop is not offering the camera for sale any more. When I last checked, about 2 weeks ago, the listed them as "out of stock". Now they're not listed at all, only the cables.
Not a happy Robert
Robert I'd strongly recommend that you phone AstroShop and speak to Steve directly
__________________
Vin

Incurable Refractorholic. EQ6 GoTo, GP2 and EQ3 mounts. EPs: 2.5 & 4mm Vixen NLV. 5, 8, 13, 17 & 22mm Vixen LVW. 30 & 40mm Vixen NPL.


"If a straight line is the shortest distance between two points, a circle is the longest distance between the same point provided the circle is big enough" - Sellar and Yeatman
Reply With Quote
Reply

  AstroHolic.com > Astro Imaging > Video Astronomy > The GSTAR-EX User's Group

Register your FREE account today!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump

All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:50 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 - 2011, Astroholic.com. All rights reserved.